Aperçu du Ghana

Blocs de contenu du modèle J

Ghana

Dans cette image : Le personnel de l'IPA rencontre le Dr Yaw Adutwum, ministre de l'Éducation, au Ghana. © 2021 IPA Ghana
Contacter Small Meta

Contactez nous : info-ghana@poverty-action.org

1. Bureau d'Accra : No. 4, Kpekpe Close, 2e Ashiakle Link, Abelemkpe, Accra, Ghana / Adresse postale : PMB 57, Osu–Accra, Ghana / Téléphone : + 233 544-322-614

2. Bureau de Tamale : AB 182, rue Dandelion, Kanvili Tunayili, Tamale, Ghana / Adresse postale : PO Box TL 1272, Tamale, Ghana / Tel: +233 540 109 005 XNUMX

 

Titre de la section Fonctionnalités
Résultats des recherches

Répéteur de fonctionnalités

Titre de la fonction du répéteur
Retour à l'école secondaire au Ghana

Fonctionnalité de contenu répéteur

La scolarisation dans le primaire a augmenté en Afrique subsaharienne au cours des deux dernières décennies, mais les taux de scolarisation dans le secondaire restent relativement faibles. Dans cette étude en cours au Ghana, les chercheurs évaluent l'effet des bourses d'études secondaires sur le niveau d'instruction et les compétences cognitives à court terme, et sur les résultats de la vie à plus long terme, des résultats en matière d'emploi et de santé à la participation et aux attitudes civiques. Jusqu'à présent, les résultats ont montré que le coût était un obstacle majeur à l'inscription à l'école secondaire chez les diplômés du secondaire, et que des bourses complètes augmentaient le niveau d'instruction, les connaissances, les compétences et les comportements de santé préventifs des jeunes. Pour les femmes, l'enseignement secondaire a également retardé le mariage et la grossesse. Les boursiers qui s'inscrivaient dans des filières universitaires étaient plus susceptibles de s'inscrire dans l'enseignement supérieur, et les lauréats qui s'inscrivaient dans des filières professionnelles avaient des revenus plus élevés que les non-gagnants. Les chercheurs continueront de suivre les participants jusqu'en 2020 et au-delà.

en savoir plus

Titre de la fonction du répéteur
Comparaison des approches des moyens de subsistance pour les ultra-pauvres au Ghana

Fonctionnalité de contenu répéteur

L'approche de sortie, un modèle de programmes holistiques de subsistance, s'est avérée avoir des effets durables sur les revenus, les actifs, la sécurité alimentaire et la santé mentale des familles pauvres, mais ces programmes peuvent être coûteux à mettre en œuvre. IPA travaille avec des chercheurs au Ghana pour évaluer l'impact de différentes variantes du programme de sortie de pauvreté - sans visites de coaching, avec thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, sans services supplémentaires et uniquement un transfert en espèces - sur le revenu, la consommation, les actifs, les la santé et d'autres mesures du bien-être.

en savoir plus

Titre de la fonction du répéteur
L'impact de la COVID-19 sur l'apprentissage et le développement des enfants au Ghana

Fonctionnalité de contenu répéteur

La pandémie de COVID-19 et le ralentissement social et économique qui l'accompagne compromettent les résultats scolaires et développementaux des enfants, en particulier dans les pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire. Tirant parti d'une étude longitudinale en cours, des chercheurs au Ghana ont mené des enquêtes téléphoniques et d'autres activités de recherche pour mesurer les répercussions de la pandémie sur l'éducation des enfants et les résultats de développement plus larges. En moyenne, les élèves des écoles privées et les élèves de statut socio-économique élevé ont obtenu des résultats aux tests plus élevés à la fin de la période de fermeture de l'école par rapport à leurs homologues des écoles publiques, même en contrôlant leurs scores précédents. En outre, 72 % des enfants des écoles publiques ont manqué les déjeuners quotidiens reçus par le Programme d'alimentation scolaire du Ghana et 30 % des enfants interrogés ont affirmé avoir souffert de la faim pendant la fermeture des écoles. 

en savoir plus
Voir plus

Impact de la politique

Répéteur 3 colonnes

Instruction différenciée

Subtext

S'appuyant sur un ensemble mondial de preuves, IPA Ghana travaille avec le ministère de l'Éducation et d'autres partenaires pour mettre en œuvre et suivre l'extension d'un programme d'enseignement différencié à 10,000 XNUMX écoles.

Apprendre encore plus

Sommet de l'éducation

Subtext

 Dans le cadre de la Semaine nationale de l'éducation du Ghana, IPA Ghana co-organise le Sommet annuel sur la preuve avec le ministère de l'Éducation. L'événement rassemble des chercheurs, des praticiens et des décideurs pour aligner des preuves rigoureuses sur les priorités nationales en matière d'éducation du Ghana.  

 

Apprendre encore plus

Développement de l'enfant

Subtext

IPA Ghana travaille avec des partenaires du secteur de l'éducation de la petite enfance du Ghana pour soutenir le développement, la mise en œuvre et la mise à l'échelle de politiques et de programmes d'éducation de la petite enfance fondés sur des données probantes.

 

Apprendre encore plus
Ghana

Notre équipe

Ghana

Notre équipe

Directeur de pays, Ghana

Salifu Amadu

« Chez IPA, on doit vraiment réfléchir et innover tout le temps. Et chaque étude est un peu un nouveau défi. »

Lire la biographie complète

Responsable de recherche associé

Solomon Samanhyia

Solomon Samanhyia est directeur de recherche associé à l'IPA Ghana, apportant des expériences professionnelles provenant du monde universitaire, d'organisations de la société civile et d'organisations non gouvernementales internationales.

Lire la biographie complète

Gestionnaire de terrain

Mary Aborgah

Mary Aborgah est responsable des anciens élèves du Ghana (LFG). Au cours de son engagement avec LFG, elle a travaillé comme enseignante dans la municipalité de Savelugu pendant deux ans.

Lire la biographie complète

Responsable informatique régional, Afrique de l'Ouest

Benjamin Afful

Benjamin Afful serves as a Regional IT Manager of West Africa. He is a result-oriented professional with over eight years of experience in Information Technology system solutions and network management. 

Lire la biographie complète

Assistant administratif senior

George Anang

George Anang is the Senior Administrative Assistant for IPA Ghana. He previously worked as a short-term consultant and intern on IPA's Operations and Finance teams.

Lire la biographie complète

responsable approvisionnement

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah travaille avec IPA Ghana depuis juillet 2012. Elle a commencé comme agente de terrain, a gravi les échelons jusqu'à devenir assistante administrative et est actuellement responsable des achats pour les bureaux du Ghana.

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche principal

Isaac Arthur

Isaac Arthur est associé principal de la qualité de la recherche chez IPA Ghana. Il travaille sur plusieurs projets et s'assure que les données d'IPA Ghana sont de haute qualité.

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche principal

Henry Atimone

Henry Atimone a plusieurs années d'expérience chez IPA Ghana et se concentre actuellement sur le projet de renforcement de la responsabilité des enseignants pour atteindre tous les élèves (STARS). Il a soutenu plusieurs projets au cours de sa carrière chez IPA Ghana, notamment Quality Preschool for Ghana (QP4G) et Fast Track Transformational Teacher-Training (FTTT).

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche

Bartholomew Bachori Bilijo

Bartholomew est associé de recherche à l'IPA. Avant sa nomination, il était coordinateur de projet pour Family Support Lifeline (FASUL) où il a supervisé et mis en œuvre plusieurs projets dans les domaines de la santé, de l'éducation, de l'agriculture, de l'eau et de l'assainissement.

Lire la biographie complète

Gérant

Amélie Daubresse

Amélie est responsable de l'unité de preuves Right-Fit d'IPA au Ghana. Auparavant, elle était responsable du suivi et de l'évaluation pour ACTED, une ONG intervenant dans la réponse d'urgence en République démocratique du Congo.

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche

Isaac Kwablah Djabatey

Isaac travaille pour l'IPA depuis 2010 et a travaillé dans les domaines de l'éducation, de l'assainissement, de la violence en milieu scolaire, des PME et du genre.

Lire la biographie complète

Directrice Principale de Programme - Afrique du Sud et de l'Est

Kanan Dubal

Kanan travaille en tant que directrice principale de programme pour IPA Ghana. Dans ce rôle, elle dirige la fourniture d'assistance technique d'IPA Ghana pour l'application de la politique d'éducation fondée sur des preuves. Elle a commencé sa carrière comme avocate d'affaires en Inde.

Lire la biographie complète

Directeur de pays, Ghana

Salifu Amadu

« Chez IPA, on doit vraiment réfléchir et innover tout le temps. Et chaque étude est un peu un nouveau défi. »

Lire la biographie complète

Responsable de recherche associé

Solomon Samanhyia

Solomon Samanhyia est directeur de recherche associé à l'IPA Ghana, apportant des expériences professionnelles provenant du monde universitaire, d'organisations de la société civile et d'organisations non gouvernementales internationales.

Lire la biographie complète

Gestionnaire de terrain

Mary Aborgah

Mary Aborgah est responsable des anciens élèves du Ghana (LFG). Au cours de son engagement avec LFG, elle a travaillé comme enseignante dans la municipalité de Savelugu pendant deux ans.

Lire la biographie complète

Responsable informatique régional, Afrique de l'Ouest

Benjamin Afful

Benjamin Afful serves as a Regional IT Manager of West Africa. He is a result-oriented professional with over eight years of experience in Information Technology system solutions and network management. 

Lire la biographie complète

Assistant administratif senior

George Anang

George Anang is the Senior Administrative Assistant for IPA Ghana. He previously worked as a short-term consultant and intern on IPA's Operations and Finance teams.

Lire la biographie complète

responsable approvisionnement

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah travaille avec IPA Ghana depuis juillet 2012. Elle a commencé comme agente de terrain, a gravi les échelons jusqu'à devenir assistante administrative et est actuellement responsable des achats pour les bureaux du Ghana.

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche principal

Isaac Arthur

Isaac Arthur est associé principal de la qualité de la recherche chez IPA Ghana. Il travaille sur plusieurs projets et s'assure que les données d'IPA Ghana sont de haute qualité.

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche principal

Henry Atimone

Henry Atimone a plusieurs années d'expérience chez IPA Ghana et se concentre actuellement sur le projet de renforcement de la responsabilité des enseignants pour atteindre tous les élèves (STARS). Il a soutenu plusieurs projets au cours de sa carrière chez IPA Ghana, notamment Quality Preschool for Ghana (QP4G) et Fast Track Transformational Teacher-Training (FTTT).

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche

Bartholomew Bachori Bilijo

Bartholomew est associé de recherche à l'IPA. Avant sa nomination, il était coordinateur de projet pour Family Support Lifeline (FASUL) où il a supervisé et mis en œuvre plusieurs projets dans les domaines de la santé, de l'éducation, de l'agriculture, de l'eau et de l'assainissement.

Lire la biographie complète

Gérant

Amélie Daubresse

Amélie est responsable de l'unité de preuves Right-Fit d'IPA au Ghana. Auparavant, elle était responsable du suivi et de l'évaluation pour ACTED, une ONG intervenant dans la réponse d'urgence en République démocratique du Congo.

Lire la biographie complète

Associé de recherche

Isaac Kwablah Djabatey

Isaac travaille pour l'IPA depuis 2010 et a travaillé dans les domaines de l'éducation, de l'assainissement, de la violence en milieu scolaire, des PME et du genre.

Lire la biographie complète

Directrice Principale de Programme - Afrique du Sud et de l'Est

Kanan Dubal

Kanan travaille en tant que directrice principale de programme pour IPA Ghana. Dans ce rôle, elle dirige la fourniture d'assistance technique d'IPA Ghana pour l'application de la politique d'éducation fondée sur des preuves. Elle a commencé sa carrière comme avocate d'affaires en Inde.

Lire la biographie complète

Ghana overview

Template J Content Blocks

Ghana

In this Image IPA staff meet with the Minister of Health in Ghana. © 2022 IPA Ghana
Contact Small Meta

Contact Us
info-ghana@poverty-action.org

1. Accra Office: Physical Address: No. 4, Kpekpe Close, 2nd Ashiakle Link, Abelemkpe, Accra, Ghana / Mailing Address: PMB 57, Osu–Accra, Ghana / Phone: + 233 544-322-614

2. Tamale Office: Physical Address: AB 182, Dandelion Street, Kanvili Tunayili, Tamale, Ghana / Mailing Address: P.O. Box TL 1272, Tamale, Ghana / Phone: +233 540 109 005

 

Features Section Title
Research Findings

Features Repeater
Repeater Media Image
Image
Innovations for Poverty Action logo in white and green on black background, without word-mark

Repeater Feature Title
Returns to Secondary Schooling in Ghana

Repeater Content Feature

Primary school enrollment has risen in Sub-Saharan Africa over the past two decades, but secondary school enrollment rates remain relatively low. In this ongoing study in Ghana, researchers are evaluating the effect of secondary school scholarships on educational attainment and cognitive skills in the short run, and on life outcomes in the longer run, from employment and health outcomes to civic participation and attitudes. Results thus far showed that cost was a key barrier to secondary school enrollment among middle school graduates, and full scholarships increased young people’s educational attainment, knowledge, skills, and preventative health behaviors. For women, secondary schooling also delayed marriage and pregnancy. Scholarship winners who enrolled in academic tracks were more likely to enroll in tertiary education, and winners who enrolled in vocational tracks had higher earnings than non-winners. Researchers will continue to track participants to 2020 and beyond.

Read More

Repeater Feature Title
Comparing Livelihood Approaches for the Ultra-Poor in Ghana

Repeater Content Feature

The Graduation Approach, a model for holistic livelihoods programs, has been proven to have lasting impacts on poor families’ income, assets, food security, and mental health, but these programs can be expensive to implement. Innovations for Poverty Action is working with researchers in Ghana to evaluate the impact of different variations of the Graduation program—without coaching visits, with cognitive behavioral therapy, without additional services, and a cash transfer only—on household income, consumption, assets, psychological health, and other measures of well-being.

Read More
Repeater Media Image
Image
Innovations for Poverty Action logo in white and green on black background, without word-mark

Repeater Feature Title
The Impact of COVID-19 on Children’s Learning and Development in Ghana

Repeater Content Feature

The COVID-19 pandemic and the associated social and economic downturn are undermining children's educational and developmental outcomes, particularly in low- and middle-income countries. Leveraging an on-going longitudinal study, researchers in Ghana conducted phone surveys and other research activities to measure the pandemic’s repercussions on children’s education and broader developmental outcomes. On average, private school students and students with high socioeconomic status had higher test scores at the end of the school closure period compared with their public-school counterparts, even when controlling of their previous scores. Additionally, 72 percent of public school children missed daily lunches that are received by the Ghana School Feeding Program and 30 percent of surveyed children claimed they experienced hunger during school closures. 

Read More
Load More

Policy Impact

3 Column Repeater

Differentiated Instruction

Subtext

Building on a global body of evidence, IPA Ghana works with the Ministry of Education and other partners to implement and monitor the scale-up of a differentiated instruction program to 10,000 schools.

Learn more

Education Summit

Subtext

 As part of Ghana’s National Education Week, IPA Ghana co-hosts the annual Evidence Summit with the Ministry of Education. The event brings together researchers, practitioners, and policymakers to align rigorous evidence with Ghana’s national education priorities.  

 

Learn more

Child Development

Subtext

IPA Ghana works with partners throughout Ghana’s early childhood education sector to support the development, implementation, and scaling of evidence-informed early childhood education policies and programs.

 

Learn more
Ghana

Our Team

Ghana

Our Team

Country Director, Ghana

Salifu Amadu

“At IPA, you get to really think through and come up with something new all the time. And every study is almost like a new challenge.”

Read Full Bio

Associate Research Manager

Abdul-Malik Abdul-Latif

Abdul-Malik Abdul-Latif is an Associate Research Manager at IPA Ghana leading projects in health, agriculture, and livelihoods.

Read Full Bio

Field Manager

Mary Aborgah

Mary Aborgah is a Lead for Ghana (LFG) Alumni. During her engagement with LFG, she worked as a Teaching fellow in Savelugu Municipality for two years.

Read Full Bio

Associate Regional IT Manager, West Africa

Benjamin Afful

Benjamin Afful is a graduate from the University of Ghana with a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, a Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP), and a Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) in Network Security Fundamentals.

Read Full Bio

Procurement Officer

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah has worked with IPA Ghana since July 2012. She started off as a Field Officer, rose through the ranks to an Administrative Assistant, and is currently the Procurement Officer for the Ghana offices.

Read Full Bio

Senior Research Associate

Isaac Arthur

Isaac Arthur is a Senior Research Quality Associate with IPA Ghana. He works across multiple projects and ensures data from IPA Ghana is of high quality.

Read Full Bio

Senior Research Associate

Henry Atimone

Henry Atimone has several years of experience at IPA Ghana and is currently focused on the Strengthening Teachers Accountability to Reach All Students (STARS) Project. He has supported several projects over the course of his time at IPA Ghana, including Quality Preschool for Ghana (QP4G) and Fast Track Transformational Teacher-Training (FTTT).

Read Full Bio

Senior Program Manager

Kanan Dubal

Kanan works as a Senior Program Manager at IPA Ghana. In this role, she leads IPA Ghana’s provision of technical assistance for the scale-up of evidence-based education policy. She started her career as a corporate lawyer in India.

Read Full Bio

Country Director, Ghana

Salifu Amadu

“At IPA, you get to really think through and come up with something new all the time. And every study is almost like a new challenge.”

Read Full Bio

Associate Research Manager

Abdul-Malik Abdul-Latif

Abdul-Malik Abdul-Latif is an Associate Research Manager at IPA Ghana leading projects in health, agriculture, and livelihoods.

Read Full Bio

Field Manager

Mary Aborgah

Mary Aborgah is a Lead for Ghana (LFG) Alumni. During her engagement with LFG, she worked as a Teaching fellow in Savelugu Municipality for two years.

Read Full Bio

Associate Regional IT Manager, West Africa

Benjamin Afful

Benjamin Afful is a graduate from the University of Ghana with a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, a Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP), and a Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) in Network Security Fundamentals.

Read Full Bio

Procurement Officer

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah

Rebecca Antwi Yeboah has worked with IPA Ghana since July 2012. She started off as a Field Officer, rose through the ranks to an Administrative Assistant, and is currently the Procurement Officer for the Ghana offices.

Read Full Bio

Senior Research Associate

Isaac Arthur

Isaac Arthur is a Senior Research Quality Associate with IPA Ghana. He works across multiple projects and ensures data from IPA Ghana is of high quality.

Read Full Bio

Senior Research Associate

Henry Atimone

Henry Atimone has several years of experience at IPA Ghana and is currently focused on the Strengthening Teachers Accountability to Reach All Students (STARS) Project. He has supported several projects over the course of his time at IPA Ghana, including Quality Preschool for Ghana (QP4G) and Fast Track Transformational Teacher-Training (FTTT).

Read Full Bio

Senior Program Manager

Kanan Dubal

Kanan works as a Senior Program Manager at IPA Ghana. In this role, she leads IPA Ghana’s provision of technical assistance for the scale-up of evidence-based education policy. She started her career as a corporate lawyer in India.

Read Full Bio